State seeks nominations for the 2024 Farm Family of the Year

(Palmer, AK) – The Alaska Division of Agriculture invites the public to submit nominations for the 25th annual Farm Family of the Year award! With support from Matanuska Valley Federal Credit Union and Alaska State Fair, the Division established the award in 2000 to honor an Alaska farm family that epitomizes the spirt of the industry, and to show appreciation for hardworking Alaskans committed to agriculture and aquaculture. The winning Farm Family of the Year will be presented with the award at this year’s Alaska State Fair in Palmer, Alaska. In addition, all nominated families will be highlighted on the Alaska Grown Facebook page at to recognize and thank them for their contributions towards Alaska’s agriculture industry.
The Farm Family of the Year will be selected by a nomination review committee comprised of volunteer representatives from Alaska agriculture agencies including the USDA Farm Service Agency, USDA Natural Resources Conservation Service, University of Alaska Fairbanks School of Natural Resources and Extension,

Nominations should include details about the family and how they fulfill the following criteria:

  • Production of quality Alaska Grown products
  • Community involvement such as civic organizations, school, sports, church, etc.
  • Involvement in agriculture industry organizations including local, state, and federal organizations.
  • Overall farm family image, farming history, and unique or special production.

Nominations are due by May 31, 2024 via the following link:

This year, in celebration of Alaska Agriculture Day and all of the State’s farm families, those who nominate a Farm Family of the Year will be entered into a drawing for an Alaska Grown gift basket! One drawing per week will be held on May 10, 17, 24, and 31 during the nomination period. If a nominator is not selected, they will remain in the drawing until the end of the nomination period (May 7- May 31). Only one submission is necessary for entry into the drawings.

List of previous winners:

Media Contact:
Lorraine Henry
[email protected]

Author: Betty Shadura

Share This Post On